director, producer, screenwriter

David Ondříček graduated from the school of documentary filmmaking at Prague’s FAMU. After making several documentaries he debuted in 1996 with the Whisper. The film became the second most attended in the Czech Republic in 1996, it was nominated for a Tiger Award at the Rotterdam IFF in 1997 and won the Promotional Award at the Festival of Young European Film in Cottbus. In 2000, David Ondříček presented his second feature film, Loners, which brought him great success at home and abroad. Loners received nine nominations in the Czech Lions, of which it won two. It also won three prizes at the Mannheim Heidelberg IFF in 2000 and in the same year received the viewers’ award at the Thessaloniki IFF and Warsaw IFF and three prizes at the film festival in Plzeň. One Hand Can’t Clap, his third feature film, premiered in 2003 and was nominated in three categories of the Czech Lions. It was awarded a Silver Medal at the Houston International Festival in the Independent Feature Film category. In 2006 David Ondříček then came out with Grandhotel, which was selected for the Panorama section at the Berlinale. Grandhotel was nominated for seven Czech Lions and went home with two.


A graduate of the school of screenwriting and dramaturgy at FAMU. His screenplays have been the basis for the television films Iguo-Igua, Trosečníci and episodes of the series Redakce. The screenplays for Rebarbora and Amen Sam won him first place in 2003 and 2004 in the Sazka Award screenwriting competition and in the national round of the Hartley- Merrill Prize. The screenplay for Rebarbora was filmed by Romanian director Ruxandra Zenide in a Romanian-Swiss coproduction called Ryna. In 2006 he took second place in the Sazky Award for a screenplay called Signál, and third place in 2007 with Krávy. His screenplay for the television movie BrainStorm won the Elsa Award. Jiří Vejdělek then used the screenplay Amen Sam for the film Roming (2007), and the same director filmed Václav (2007), which won two Czech Lions and other international prizes. Marek Epstein also published the book “Ohybač křížů”.


David Ondříček, Kryštof Mucha, Ehud Bleiberg


Marek Epstein, David Ondříček, Misha Votruba


David Ondříček


Adam Sikora


Jan P. Muchow, Michal Novinski


Jan Vlasák


Pavel Rejholec, Jakub Čech


Michal Lánský


Jarmila Konečná